Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to our 2021 scholarship recipients!

Reem Yassin: McLafferty Memorial Award and Anticouni & Ricotta Scholarship 

Rebecca Hoffman: Honorable James E. Herman Scholarship of Excellence

Danika Jones: Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Tribute Scholarship

Congratulations to our 2018 scholarship recipients!

Pictured left to right:

Duyen Tran, Nordstrand Black Scholarship Recipient; Idalia Gomez, McLafferty Memorial Scholarship Award Recipient; Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson; Esmeralda Murillo, Anticouni & Associates Scholarship Recipient; and Dalia Granados, Justinia Rivard Scholarship Recipient

Congratulations to our 2017 scholarship recipients!

Pictured left to right:
Bridget Rodriguez, Anticouni & Associates Scholarship Recipient
Reanna Carrillo, McLafferty Memorial Scholarship Award Recipient
Lindsay Stone, Santa Barbara Women Lawyers Foundation Scholarship Recipient


Scholarship Opportunities

The Santa Barbara Women Lawyers Foundation issues a number of scholarships each year of varying amounts ($1,500 – $3,000) to law students of all gender identities and expressions.  An applicant may receive more than one scholarship. The Foundation is accepting applications for the following scholarships.

McLafferty Memorial Award

The McLafferty Memorial Award is the most prestigious award given by the Foundation.  It is awarded to the student with demonstrated academic achievements and possession of traits critical to the ethical practice of law. The Honorable William McLafferty very much embodied the role of judge and played a major leadership role in the court for many years. Judge McLafferty was first appointed to the Santa Barbara Superior Court Bench in November 1997 after having practiced law since the late 1960s. From 2007-2008, Judge McLafferty served as presiding judge.  He was a dedicated public servant and a well-respected member of the Santa Barbara legal community. The applicant who best encompasses the traits set forth in the Foundation Scholarships criteria is awarded the coveted McLafferty Memorial Award.

SBWLF Scholarships

The minimum scholarship amount for a recipient of an SBWLF Scholarship is $1,500.  Scholarship applicants will be evaluated based on following criteria:

  • Academic achievement
  • Financial need
  • Commitment to gender equality
  • Overcoming setbacks
  • Leadership
  • Dedication to the Santa Barbara legal community

Honorable James E. Herman Scholarship of Excellence

The Honorable James E. Herman Scholarship of Excellence is presented by the Honorable Denise de Bellefeuille (Ret.) in honor to her husband, and judge, the Honorable James Herman, for his loving support for their 36-year partnership. Both Judge Herman and Judge de Bellefeuille have been members and supporters of SBWL. Applicants will be evaluated based on the Foundation Scholarships criteria.

Anticouni & Ricotta Scholarship

A $3,000 scholarship to a law student based on the following two criteria:

  • Financial need
  • Overcoming obstacles based on socioeconomic and/or educational disadvantage

The scholarship is sponsored by:

Anticouni & Ricotta, Leaders in Employment Litigation Serving Clients Throughout California.

At Anticouni & Ricotta, California’s employers and employees alike receive quality representation. The firm’s expertise extends over Contracts, Discrimination, Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), Sexual Harassment, Wrongful Termination, and many more.  The firm has been a trailblazer in the practice of employment law, filing the first wage and hour class action more than 40 years ago.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Tribute Scholarship

The Honorable Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg was a champion of race and gender equality. As trailblazing attorney, she was a fierce and strategic litigator using her powerful reasoning to create social change.  As a Justice, she was a beacon of integrity and known for her commanding dissents. Justice Ginsburg’s legacy is one of inspiration and courage to use the law to impact lives and promote social justice. In an effort to honor her legacy, Santa Barbara Women Lawyers Foundation has established the RBG Tribute Scholarship Award. This scholarship is open to both undergraduate and law students. A successful candidate for this scholarship will encompass the traits of Justice Ginsburg and show a commitment to her legacy as described above.