The Professional Advancement Committee solicits, evaluates and presents nominations for the annual Deborah Talmage Attorney of the Year Award plans the Annual Dinner. The planning process includes securing a keynote speaker for the event.

2017 Chair: Lauren Joyce
Committee Members: Lisa Franklin, Betty Jeppesen

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: E-mail if you have keynote speaker ideas or other input.  Nominations for the Attorney of the Year Award will be posted prior to the event.


The Communications Committee develops, maintains and updates SBWL’s website at and publishes SBWL’s informative quarterly newsletter. There’s room on the committee for writers, editors, photographers, graphic artists and novice website programmers — anyone with traditional journalistic flair or e-commentators. Its goal is to add personal and entertaining touches to the newsletter. The committee also is SBWL’s contact with the local media, by keeping it informed about SBWL activities.

2017 Chair: Christine Monroe
Committee Members: Betty Jeppesen, Michelle Roberson

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: New committee members always welcome, as are guest writers.  E-mail with questions and submissions.


This committee organizes and coordinates the yearly Food from the Bar Drive each July. The drive supports the Foodbank’s Picnic in the Park Program, which helps bridge the “summer food gap” when school lunches are not available to children in need.

2017 Chair: Tara Messing
Committee Members: Kuldeep Kaur, Allegra Geller-Kudrow

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: New committee members always welcome, as are donations  E-mail with questions and submissions.


The Judicial Committee monitors all developments relating to Santa Barbara County’s judiciary. It also meets with and evaluates potential judicial candidates, both for election and appointment. The committee in 2017 is responsible for drafting and writing up judicial evaluation procedures for the SBWL website. The Committee is responsible for implementing some of SBWL’s most important goals: increasing the number of women in Superior Court positions and educating qualified candidates for upcoming openings in those posts.  The Judicial Committee also sponsors Judicial Candidate forums during the election process.

2017 Chair: Shannon DeNatale Boyd
Committee Members: Danielle De Smeth

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: Judicial candidates interested in being evaluated are encouraged to contact


The Legal Education Committee is responsible for developing and executing MCLE and related program events, including but not limited to arranging for speakers and publicizing the event. The Committee should endeavor to execute four or more events per calendar year on topics relevant to the SBWL membership.

2017 Chair: Danielle De Smeth
Committee Members: Kuldeep Kaur, Tara Messing

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: Please contact if you are interested in providing an MCLE.


The Membership Committee recruits and welcomes new members to SBWL and works to encourage continuing membership. The Committee maintains a current membership list and is working with the Communications Committee to put a list of current SBWL members on the SBWL website. The Committee also encourages and promotes membership to California Women Lawyer (CWL).  Finally, the Committee will also continue to make special efforts to get new members involved in SBWL activities.

2017 Co-Chairs: Elizabeth Diaz and Lauren Joyce
Committee Members: Christine Monroe

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: Renew now for continuing Membership Benefits. Please contact for more information or simply visit our Membership Page.


The Networking Committee promotes and coordinates SBWL Mentoring Circles. This includes maintaining communication with circle leads, assigning interested members to circles, and creating new circles as needed. The committee also plans and coordinates other networking opportunities for members, and maintains relationships with other community organizations including but not limited to Women Lawyers of Ventura County, the Coalition Against Gun Violence etc.

2017 Chair: Danielle De Smeth
Committee Members: Shannon DeNatale Boyd

MEMBER INPUT REQUESTED: New committee members are always welcome. Please contact for more information.